Stitched Beauty

Last summer I went to the Ohio Mennonite Relief Sale.  I was going through old pictures and found these.  Amish Quilts have so much color and artistry involved that stands out juxtaposed against dark clothes and buggies.

This picture looks like the buggy was pulled out of a movie or different time and dropped onto this road.

Tied Quilts

This might be my favorite.  I love the peacock and the bright colored borders that bring out the colors of the feathers.

The quilting on these is beautiful.  It makes me want to head to the fabric store for a pattern and and fabric and quilting supplies.

~ by shostagirl on November 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “Stitched Beauty”

  1. I didn’t know you quilted! My grandmother quilts and sells them at art fairs which I think is pretty awesome. I LOVED the peacock one and the purple flowery one looked good too, despite the purple. 🙂

  2. Well, I’ve only ever done a crazy quilt and I tied it, I didn’t quilt it. My roommate quilts though so I’m thinking I should learn while I live with her.

Leave a Reply

 
