What I Read This Week 2.1

  Ok, so yes, I know it’s not Friday and I know I just started this challenge.  However, I had to travel to a funeral over the weekend so that’s why my reading post is late for this week.  This post covers Friday January 27th through Friday February 3rd.  Only books that I had finished reading by Friday the 3rd are listed.

It was a busy week and I did not get to read as much as I usually do.  The weekend was full of travel and visiting.

  Rainbow Valley is the seventh in the Anne series and not my favorite.  Don’t get me wrong, I like it but it does not have quite the same charm for me as the rest.  It seems to relive Anne’s childhood scrapes without her winning personality.  I do love reading about her children but they are not as captivating as their mother.

The valley where the children play does have a magical hold.  It is the part of the book that illustrates that Anne personality that by this book many readers have come to expect.  The lessons and flights of fancy that Anne’s children learn are sweet but just lack Anne’s sparkle.  It’s a good book but just not as great as others in the series.

  The Last book in the Anne series, Rilla of Ingleside is wonderful.  It focuses on Anne’s youngest child, “Rilla.”  Set during World War II, Rilla’s coming of age is more extreme than most.  Dealing with the reality of war and doing her part in the war effort Rilla sets the most sober tone of all the Anne books.  The book begins with Rilla as a child and closes with her as an adult.  It is wonderful!  Rilla is a little over vain which gets a little irritating at moments.  She is so sweet that it almost becomes a loveable fault.

Yet again Montgomery manages to introduce new and loveable characters while maintaining a cohesive collection of old well loved ones.  This is definitely a must read but should not be read before the previous seven in the series.

  Wow!  I’m a little at a loss of what to write because Ender’s Game was so good that I am afraid of giving anything away!  I can say that this book had awesome plot twists.  I cannot wait to read it again.

The three Wiggin children each have their abilities tested to serve the government to defend against “the buggers”- aliens threatening life on earth.  Ender has to make a series of choices that affect his family and eventually more and more people.  If earth cannot find a general to lead them to victory, “the buggers” will win…  What else can I say?  Read it!  You won’t regret it.

  Eye of the Sword is a book I received to review.  It is the second in a series.  I have not read the first book: Breath of Angel but after reading it’s sequel I may have to track it down.  The story opens with the main character, Trevin departing on a quest.  This adventure as all the great ingredients of a compelling fantasy novel: a nearly impossible mission, friendship, love, betrayal, redemption, and an epic journey.

I really enjoyed my visit to the land of Camrithia.  I am hooked: I will probably find the first one and read the next ones as they come out.  I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

  I have seen Alexander McCall Smith’s books described as both a modern day P. G. Wodehouse and as sitting down with a cup of tea.  I must agree with both.  The Miracle at Speedy Motors is the 9th in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series.

Mma. Ramotswe once again ponders the little pieces of life as she attempts to help those who come into her life.  One of the things I really love about Mma. Ramotswe is her wandering ethical questions.  Once again reading an Alexander McCall Smith helped me relax and laugh at the absurdities of life.

~ by shostagirl on February 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “What I Read This Week 2.1”

  1. Nice. I skipped the last two Annes…per usual. I haven’t even started the penultimate Anne book.
    I added the Orson Scott Card book, but I hope the name “buggers” doesn’t ruin it. What a dreadful choice of word. Is it at all distracting or do you forget it kind of with the rest of the book being so good. I can’t WAIT for you to read the A Wrinkle in Time series.
    So, are you re-reading the whole Ladies Detective series then?

  2. Oh, I think that when you read it the name will make a lot of sense and not bother you as much.
    I’m not re-reading the Ladies Detective series… that was book number 9, which I haven’t read before. I have three more to go reading the series for the first time! A. M. C. has way too many books I haven’t read for me to re-read them yet. 🙂
    Yeah, I’m pretty excited about the Wrinkle in Time series too.

Leave a Reply

 
