Day 1: Best Book I Read Last Year

This is a hard one!  I guess that’s why it’s called a challenge though.  I think I’m going to have to choose for two categories.  Fiction and Non Fiction?  Ok, so here goes…

Fiction: The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, I realize that is three books.  They were awesome!  Definitely the best adventure series I’ve read in a very long time.  I loved every second of them.  I tore through reading them and am eagerly awaiting the fourth and final book.  The Igiby children are so real!  Even in their fantastic adventure they are so easy to relate to.  I think I learned about myself, especially myself as the oldest sister.  They are amazing.  If you haven’t read them, you should!  You can find them on the Rabbit Room. Peterson somehow managed to write a wonderful kid geared adventure story packed full of truth, introspection AND adventure.  I stayed up so late reading these books.  They were the type I carried around the whole house with me I was so desperate to find out what happened next.  After I finished Monster in the Hollows I sort of went through a book depression because they were over and had to pull out Anthony Trollope, Stephen Lawhead, and Orson Scott Card to recover.  (Close second would be Fiddler’s Gun and Fiddler’s Green by Andrew Peterson’s brother, A. S. Peterson).

Now for the Nonfiction… I have to go with Mao’s Last Dancer by Li Cunxin.  It was one of the most compelling memoirs I have read so far.  You can read my review of it here.  I haven’t seen the movie yet and honestly am a little afraid to ruin the magic of the book.  We’ll see.

~ by shostagirl on February 10, 2012.

One Response to “Day 1: Best Book I Read Last Year”

  1. Nice! I was going to do this one today, but realized it was my “What I Read This Week” day. Guess I’ll have to wait till Monday.

    I also might have a bit of a hard time choosing just…one. I read a TON of good ones last year….unlike this year. hahaha!

    I really want to read that Mao’s Last Dinner (hahaha…I know, but I keep reading it like that) one. It seems like it’s really good.

Leave a Reply

 
