What I Read This Week 2.2

  Apparently my dying old laptop cannot post things to my blog unless I’ve already completed the draft.  That’s my latest excuse for the tardiness of this post.  This covers the week of February 3rd through February 10th.  My reading has definitely slowed down, partly because the weekend of the 3rd I was traveling and partly because I’ve been working on other projects.

The Emancipation of Robert Sadler is not going on the list of my favorite books.  The story of  a slave post emancipation is distressing and needs to be told.  The part of the book that was auto-biographical I really appreciated.  It was the section on ministry that really bugged me.  At one point, Sadler claims that God told him to marry Jackie, a woman who was not a believer.  In his story it worked out and she came to Christ, but I have a problem with a minister claiming that God spoke to him something that is directly contrary to Scripture.  If it stayed biographical and less “how you should live” I would have liked it better.

   ***If you have not read the first two in this series, this may be a spoiler***

I read The King of Attolia during a difficult weekend and it was a great get-a-way.  It is the third in a trilogy by Megan Whalen Turner.  Eugenides, the thief of Attolia is in a new role as King or is he?  The Queen’s court assumes that he is incompetent but young guard Costis suspects differently.  Why would the King pretend he did not care?  Does the Queen respect him at all?  Why will he not seize power?  These are great stories.  I think they would be fun for ages 11-14 especially although I thoroughly enjoyed them.

  Scaramouche I heard about from a goodreads.com poll about the best first sentence.  I chose Scaramouche as the winner: He was born with a gift of laughter and a sense that the world was mad.  Of course that grabbed my attention!  It was, as promised a fabulous swashbuckling tale.  Andre-Louis is one of those born close to aristocracy and really of aristocracy but he didn’t know it.  During the time of the french revolution Andre-Louis had moderate views until his best friend is killed in an unjust duel.  He then devotes his life to furthering the cause that Philippe was killed over.  This is a great read with an absurd plot twist at the end.  Certainly, like the main character the reader should have a sense that the world is mad in order to truly appreciate this tale.

  Georgette Heyer is, I believe my only exception to my express disgust with the regency romance genre.  Her books are so ridiculous I am laughing a lot of the time.  The Reluctant Widow is no exception.  Elinor is such a sensible heroine… so how does she end up marrying a dreadful rake hours before his death to prevent his cousin the Lord Carlyon from inheriting the family estate?  She thought she was on her way to be a governess but a simple mistake would change her life forever.  Haha, yes, I’m being THAT dramatic.  Georgette Heyer is certainly drama worthy.

~ by shostagirl on February 14, 2012.

One Response to “What I Read This Week 2.2”

  1. What a shame! Only four this week? hahaha…I think you should take more of these much deserved rests. *rubs hands with glee*

Leave a Reply

 
