Day 3: My Favorite Series

There seem to be an endless number of ways to make this choice.  My favorite series from childhood?  From last year?  Of all time?  Laura Ingalls Wilder, The Chronicles of Narnia, All of a Kind Family, Anne of Green Gables, The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency are all contenders in my head.  Here’s the kicker though- I just have to go with the one that I stayed up all night to read each installment as they were published.  I’m choosing “the boy who lived” because I sort of grew up with him.  I’m not calling this the best series of all time or anything, just one of my favorite experiences.

  J. K. Rowling kind of reminds me of L. M. Montgomery in the way she manages to introduce new and loveable characters with each installment.  Each time I read the series I discover something new.  It is a story of good vs. evil except that good and evil are not always personified in different people.  The struggle against evil happens in almost every character.  Last summer when I was re-reading them it dawned on me the dementors were a fantastic illustration of depression.  The book is also just so full of Biblical themes.  The more times I read them, the more I see them.

I can’t wait to read them again this year.  Hermione may be my very favorite character, although Sirius Black, Professor Lupin, Tonks, Luna, and Neville give her a run for her money.  I also just adore the Weasly family.  I’m still a little surprised at myself for choosing Harry Potter, but they do get the “waited in line until midnight and then stayed up until 7am reading them” award.

~ by shostagirl on February 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “Day 3: My Favorite Series”

  1. You have the hardcover ones… ooo!

  2. Hermione was my favorite too.

Leave a Reply

 
