Day 7: Most Underrated Book

  Shirley by Charlotte Bronte seems to be a forgotten book.  It is difficult to find in bookstores.  Even Bronte enthusiasts haven’t read it.  I do not understand this!  Why do so many people who love Jane Eyre not know this book exists?  (On a side note, I’m not really a big fan of Jane Eyre…)

It’s a fantastic story set in industrializing England during the Napoleonic wars.  Shirley and Caroline are friends but stand for somewhat opposite ends of the conflict society and the invention of machines has thrust upon them.  Of course then all it takes for the drama to be complete is for their to be confusion, miscommunication about who loves who, and illness.

I like this book because of the way it deals with industrialization and riot.  It’s a book that calls for and rewards justice.  Shirley is such a strong heroine: that doesn’t hurt either!  Read it.

~ by shostagirl on February 23, 2012.

One Response to “Day 7: Most Underrated Book”

  1. I will! Actually I think I have. I’m not sure. I’m sure I have. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

 
