What I Read This Week 2.4

Hurrah for a fun week of reading!  I read quite a few this week: mostly because I was having trouble sleeping.

  The Forgotten Affairs of Youth is the eighth novel in the Isabel Dalhousie series by Alexander McCall Smith.  These are books that I would be cautious to recommend universally but I really enjoy.  Isabel’s philosophical and ethical meandering thoughts are delightful.  She is wealthy but reserved about that fact, the editor of a philosophical review, and an enthusiastic patron of art.

Isabel solves people’s little problems… or attempts to solve them.  She has a complicated relationship with a niece who always has a new and bad news boyfriend.  Her son, fiance and friendly neighborhood fox are quite dear to her, as is her eccentric housemaid Grace.  Great fun.  Read them, but don’t blame me if you find them boring or not as moral as you would like.

  I admit it, I am an Elizabeth I junkie.  I was captured by her story at age ten in history class and have been reading about her ever since.  This was a new and interesting take.  It is broken up into business advice with facts and historical paragraphs supporting each one.

It is quite thoroughly researched.  It was fun to read something that was set up a little differently that the typical biography.  Alan Axelrod made me think much more carefully about Elizabeth’s leadership specifically.  It was a fun read.

  Ah yes, Alexander McCall Smith.  I like his books.  They are peaceful and relaxing.  There is a plot but it is a loose one and the book is equally about the thoughts and intentions of the characters as it is their actions.  It is an ideal way to spend a rainy afternoon or quiet evening.

Mma. Ramotswe is back with an intriguing case: a football team is being sabotaged and it is her job to figure out who and how.  Mma. Makutsi is pitted against her old rival from the typing school and one of the notorious apprentices from Mr. J. L. B. Maketoni’s garage reveals that there is more to him than anyone has previously assumed.

  The Mysterious Benedict Society is my latest favorite.  I can recommend it to any and all with confidence.  I suppose if you don’t like witty, creative, dangerous adventures this book is not for you.  If superb character development and a book equal parts light & funny and perceptive & convincing is not what you like this book isn’t for you then either.  However, read it anyway: it’ll probably change your mind.

I will be getting the rest of this series from the library quickly.  I will be buying it for at least one of my brothers.  Reynie is one of my favorite characters… ever.  I am SO excited I found out about these books.  (Thank you Heather!!)  I’m too excited about it to give a good summary: review coming soon.  For now, I’m going to list a few things that make this book awesome: twins- one good, one evil; a bratty child; an adventurous child; a nerdy child; a thoughtful child; a worldwide conspiracy; and a whole group of people who judge the comfort of any room by how many books are in it.

    I’m also currently reading the Wrinkle in Time series.  I have finished the first three.  I’m not entirely sure what I think of them yet.  I liked them.  They will require more thought before I can review them.  These are more must reads though, especially for kids.  They are fantastically imaginative.  More on them later too.  I am becoming a Madeleine L’Engle fan and will certainly keep finding her books.

Next week I’m determined to read a little more in my nonfiction books.  I have several going right now, but too many fun new books have been popping up.

~ by shostagirl on February 24, 2012.

One Response to “What I Read This Week 2.4”

  1. Yay! SO glad you liked MBS.

Leave a Reply

 
