What I Read This Week 3.1

  I already reviewed A Sound Among the Trees so I will just add that it was a nice read and it has peaked my interest in the Civil War.  Read my review here.

The Double Comfort Safari Club is the 11th installment in the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith.  If you have followed my reading posts, you already know that I enjoy reading Alexander McCall Smith.  I’m excited to only have one more book in the series left but a little sad that I’ll be done with them after the next one.

This installment in the series was great.  Precious Ramotswe and Mr. J. L. B. Maketoni are back in fine form.  Their little disagreements just make me laugh.  Mma. Ramotswe’s sadness at having to replace her tiny white van is yet another detail that makes her so human.  Mma. Makutsi and Phuti Radiphuti hit a little bit of a bump in their relationship when Phuti has an accident that leaves him crippled and his aunt whisks him off and tries to prevent Mma Makutsi from seeing him and caring for him.

Perhaps the most amusing of all is the couple that both approach Mma Ramotswe because they think the other is having an affair.  The more I read about Mma Ramotswe the more real she becomes to me.  I enjoy her meandering thoughts and her attempts to help people through life’s little and big problems.  If you haven’t read this series you should.

~ by shostagirl on March 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
