Day 13: My Favorite Writer (an exercise in silliness)

Once again I’m afraid I am going to give you more than one favorite.  I want you to know all my best friends: not choose my very bestest.  Favorite writer.  Where should I begin?  My favorite fantasy writer is Stephen Lawhead.  My favorite modern fairytale writer is Robin McKinley.  My favorite science fiction writer is Orson Scott Card.  My favorite laugh all my worries away writer is Georgette Heyer.  See?!?  Too many already.  I think I just need to turn this into a list.

  • Fantasy: Stephen Lawhead
  • Fairy Tales re-written: Robin McKinley
  • Science Fiction: Orson Scott Card
  • Sillyness: Georgette Heyer
  • Children’s Fantasy (that’s not Lewis): Andrew Peterson
  • Musicology: David Brown
  • Russian History: Orlando Figes
  • Mystery-lite: Alexander McCall Smith
  • British Literature: Anthony Trollope
  • Political Theory: Machiavelli
  • Essays: George Orwell
  • Nigerian Fiction: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • From Childhood: Louisa May Alcott
  • British Lit/Romance: Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Adventure from Childhood: J. K. Rowling
  • Mystery: Dorothy Sayers
  • Theology: Martin Luther
  • Allegory: J. R. R. Tolkien

So now I feel ridiculous.  There is one though.  My favorite writer of all time.  That would be Leo Tolstoy.  History, politics, culture, music, relationships, theology- everything I love reading about all in one story.  I love his writing.  It is entertaining, enlightening and convicting.  I really love how much history is in any given work by him.  Tolstoy wins.  Oh yeah, I also really love Russian literature… that could have something to do with it.

~ by shostagirl on March 8, 2012.

3 Responses to “Day 13: My Favorite Writer (an exercise in silliness)”

  1. Hahaha…you are SO cheating! Ok, not really. I might do something like this myself. haha!
    I read through the list going, “WHERE on EARTH is Tolstoy!?!” Glad to see him make an appearance at the end.

  2. […] favorite.  If you want to know how “painful” that decision was, read my post on choosing a favorite writer.  This reading challenge has definitely been a challenge!  I love everything I have read by […]

Leave a Reply

 
