What I Read This Week (and the two weeks before that) 3.2,3 AND 4

Wow life is crazy!  It has been an insane month.  Somehow in between my brother’s wedding, my friend’s illness and uncertainty about the health of other family members I did fit in time to read, though not as much as I would have liked.  I think tonight will be a reading evening simply because I am craving the escape.

Yes I am officially a Stephen Lawhead fan!  This is a series I have not read before based on the Celtic crusades.  I have to warn you that this book is not for the faint of heart.  It has some distressing themes in it and the whole idea of crusade is somewhat disturbing.  The fervor and conviction of the people is juxtaposed against political manipulators and greedy churchmen.

It was a good beginning and I cannot wait to read the other two titles in the trilogy.  I am also now much more interested in the crusades and I want to know what really happened.  This is one of those books that makes me sad about injustice but it is also a Lawhead book which means it is an adventurous read.

50 Things Every Young Lady Should Know is a review book.  I chose it because I was curious.  Do I know all 50 of these necessary things?  What are they?  What place would this book occupy?  After reading it I am unsure about the intended audience.  It seems like a manners/gracious social navigating sort of book with tips and explanations for various scenarios in life.

I suppose it could be a useful sort of handbook if one found oneself launched into polite society without a clue of all the unspoken manner “rules.”  Hostess gifts and thank you notes to advising young ladies that one may never refuse a dance partner.  I read it, reviewed it, and promptly gave it away.

Small Space Organizing was an organizing book for people of means.  It was a strange read for me because the book was all about downsizing but her decorating tips almost ALL included buying more stuff particularly wicker baskets.  Apparently every storage dilemma can be solved by fabric around the sink and wicker baskets.

If that’s your style then this book will be great for you!  She mentioned budgeting for decorating and I would have loved to know how to achieve a new look on very little money.  I guess it was not that type of creative.  All in all it wasn’t terrible but it was not the book I was looking for.  It was another review book that I probably won’t keep.

I am now current on the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Series.  This was book 12 and thoroughly enjoyable.  I am ready for book 13 which is coming about this year I think.  Mma Ramotswe and Mma Makutsi are as charming and quirky as ever.  I am continually charmed by the honesty of Alexander McCall Smith’s writing.  I do enjoy the fact that his characters think about other things when they are talking to people.  It seems like the number of rabbit trails in characters thoughts that relate to the plot should be impressive.

There are some fun twists to the characters that readers of the previous 11 books think they know thoroughly.  Also, I want to try Botswana red bush tea.

The Charlatan’s Boy has been on my to read list for a while.  The Rabbit Room recommended it and the plot is intriguing.  It surpassed my expectations.  For some reason his writing reminds me of Wendel Berry.  It’s that sort of observation of life style of writing with a grand adventure thrown in the mix.

There are so many themes and parts of story with meaning.  I need to think about it for a while longer before I can summarize or review it well.  It’s a keeper.  I also think that my 12 year old brother would absolutely love it.  I just love books that include a search to be known.

How many series can I read at once?  No, that is not the theme of the month even though it may appear to be.  I enjoyed this one and am pretty close to finishing its sequel.  Stephen Lawhead has gotten me into science fiction.  I never would have imagined.  A beautiful paradise land?  Well, I think the cover gives it away that the story will not be quite that simple.

This one has the most obvious ties to Christianity of any of his books I have read so far.  The fierra are a fierce and faith driven people.  Ok, I just cannot say more because I want you to read it.  It’s good.

Now I’m off to read.  I have this contest with this friend and I am letting her close the gap between our page counts.  That ends today.

~ by shostagirl on March 27, 2012.

One Response to “What I Read This Week (and the two weeks before that) 3.2,3 AND 4”

  1. Wendell Berry!?! I’m reading that!
    Have you read the Pendragon series by Lawhead. That’s the only one we own, and I wasn’t allowed to read it when I was twelvish. I was terribly put out.

    Uhm, and the dance partner thing. You actually CAN refuse one, you just have to say you are “sitting this one out.” That’s weird that she said you can’t. A girl’s gotta have some protection. So, did you know all the 50 things?

Leave a Reply

 
