Day 14: My Favorite Book By My Favorite Writer

  I already decided that Tolstoy was my absolute favorite.  If you want to know how “painful” that decision was, read my post on choosing a favorite writer.  This reading challenge has definitely been a challenge!  I love everything I have read by Tolstoy so far.  Anna Karenina and Resurrection could both be the subject of this post.  I suppose I chose War and Peace because it is just one of my favorite stories.  I love all the history included in it and every time I read it I decide I should research Napoleon.

Since there are already fantastic summaries of this novel I am going to just post some of my favorite quotes.  I do have to say that after the first time I read War and Peace I understood why many call it the greatest novel of all time.

“Man cannot possess anything as long as he fears death. But to him who does not fear it, everything belongs. If there was no suffering, man would not know his limits, would not know himself. ”

“God is the same everywhere.”

“What is the cause of historical events? Power. What is power? Power is the sum total of wills transferred to one person. On what condition are the wills of the masses transferred to one person? On condition that the person express the will of the whole people. That is, power is power. That is, power is a word the meaning of which we do not understand. ”

“Everything ends in death, everything. Death is terrible.”

“All the stories and descriptions of that time without exception peak only of the patriotism, self-sacrifice, despair, grief, and heroism of the Russians. But in reality it was not like that…The majority of the people paid no attention to the general course of events but were influenced only by their immediate personal interests.”

Ah.  Wow, I think I just convinced myself that I must re-read this one this year.  If you have not read it, you should join me!

~ by shostagirl on March 29, 2012.

2 Responses to “Day 14: My Favorite Book By My Favorite Writer”

  1. I think I will join you. I’m so glad you picked this one and NOT Anna K. War and Peace is awesome!

  2. You should read Resurrection. Sigh. This challenge is so hard!

Leave a Reply

 
