Spring Reading Thing: Update!

With a little more than a month left in the Spring Reading Thing it’s time for my first update.  I jumped in on this towards the end of April and at this point am wondering how much of my goals I will finish.  Part of the problem is that I keep getting distracted by other books.  For example, a friend of mine just loaned me two of the Mrs. Pollifax novels.  I had never read one before and I love them.  Mrs. Pollifax is awesome!  She is not however on my list.

Review Copies I want to Read AND Post About:

  • A Woman’s Call to Prayer by Elizabeth George  I haven’t reviewed this one because I didn’t really like it.  It seemed to just skim the surface of prayer and I was hoping for something deeper.
  • Where Lilacs Still Bloom by Jane Kirkpatric  Read my review.
  • A Touch of America: Memories of an Austrian Fulbright Scholar by Wilma Shine
    Read my review.

Books I’m Currently Reading I Want to Finish:

  • Russka by Edward Rutherford  I am glad I read this one but it was not my favorite.  It was huge and epic and kind of depressing.
  • Baudolino by Umberto Eco
  • The New Grove Bach Family by Christoph Wolff
  • Mysterious Benedict Society (the trilogy) by Trenton Lee Stewart  I love these!  I’m definitely giving them to one of my younger brothers for Christmas.

Fiction:

  • The Gift of Asher Lev by Chaim Potok
  • Had a Good Time: Stories from American Postcards by Robert Olen Butler  I really enjoyed this one.  I think I am going to review it.  It is one of the most creative ideas for short stories that I have come across in a while.  I highly recommend it although some of the stories are pretty sad.
  • Jayber Crow by Wendell Berry
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky  I am 200 pages in and am appreciating it- finally!  This is one that I have tried and tried to read and am finally connecting with the characters.  I still think the beginning is just disturbing.

Non Fiction:

  • With One Voice: Discovering Christ’s Song in Our Worship by Reggie Kidd
  • Almost a Woman by Esmerelda Santiago
  • Practical Piano Pedagogy: The Definitive Text for Piano Teachers and Pedagogy Students by Martha Baker-Jordan  I am currently reading this one and really enjoying it.  i teach violin lessons but am finding it quite helpful even though it is piano specific.  The resource section is awesome!  It is helpful to have standard formats and templates to compare things with.
  • Undaunted Courage by Stephen Ambrose  I am in the middle of this one.  My dad really recommended it and I am learning about Lewis and Clark.  Ambrose is very enthusiastic and is a little too free with his adoration sometimes.  For the most part I am enjoying it.
  • Augustine of Hippo: A Biography by Peter Brown
  • Life of Luther by Barnas Sears

So fellow Spring Reading Thing bloggers, where are you?

~ by shostagirl on May 16, 2012.

4 Responses to “Spring Reading Thing: Update!”

  1. I should probably do an update myself, but haven’t gotten around to it yet 🙂 Maybe next week… Thanks for stopping by and following!

    • No problem! It’s fun to connect with other readers. I’d enjoy reading an update. 🙂 I’m really hoping I can finish my goals… but I know that Augustine biography is huge so we’ll see.

  2. Wow! You are just plowing through! This is awesome! Do you plan on reviewing Russka or is that just a no?

    • I don’t think so. There are too many others waiting for me to review them. It’ll appear in my WIRTW post of course and if it turns into a review then we’ll see…

Leave a Reply

 
