Beginning a Garden

Gardening is quickly beginning to rival reading for my favorite thing to do when I get home from work.  Saturday I spent 8 hours outside working in the sun.  A burn, sun poisoning reaction and just feeling sick are the not so pleasant results, but there were some pretty exciting ones too.  My roommate and I moved into a rental house that is lovely: peaceful, quiet, out in the country but only 15 minutes away from everything… it’s pretty much perfect.  I like to refer to it as “Patty’s Place” (nerdy Anne reference).  The yard has not been maintained in years, so we have a lot of catch up work to do.  Here’s some of my current progress.

Weeds occupying almost half of the garden as of Saturday morning.

These are the rocks, glass, pieces of metal and other items I dug out as I weeded and planted.

My garden at the end of Saturday. Please note the absence of weeds.

 

~ by shostagirl on June 13, 2012.

3 Responses to “Beginning a Garden”

  1. Wow! Good luck with your transformation! As a child I had a GIANT garden to explore with secret hideaways and tree houses and a field full of long grass… now I have no garden and it is something I truly miss! As soon as I can afford a house that’s what I want!

    I hope to see some more pictures of your garden as it takes shape!

  2. Sun poisoning can always be avoided by limiting sun exposure. UV rays are always harmful. ;

    Very latest write-up produced by our web blog
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-for-children/

Leave a Reply

 
