What I Read This Month: Part 1

I have decided to split my What I Read This Month post up into two parts because of how long it is.  This is part one, part two will follow shortly.

My reading journal for the last five weeks is fluff heavy (wait… fluff heavy!?).  I can’t believe it’s June already.  June is the month where these monthly reading posts turn back into weekly reading posts.  May was a busy month but I still managed to fit in a fair bit of reading.  Soon I’ll need to do another Spring Reading Thing update but I must confess that I already know I won’t make all my goals.  Mrs. Pollifax is entirely to blame for that.  As you will observe, I read a LOT of Mrs. Pollifax.

A Woman’s Call to Prayer by Elizabeth George was a review book for a book distribution company.  I am reading and thinking a lot on prayer lately so when I saw it on  the shelf of possible reads, I picked it up.  I did not really like it.  It did have some good reminders about creating the time and space to pray but I would have appreciated a more in depth look at prayer and less discussion of journals.  I have a pretty prayer journal but I was hoping for a study of prayers in the Bible.  George did touch on a few but this felt like theology-lite.

Beauvallet is the story of a charming English gentleman turned Queen’s pirate who ends up with an unexpected captive from a raid on his ship.  Challenged by a belligerent French sea captain the British pirate captures the French ship and is shocked to find and French noblewoman on board.  She demands that she and her father be set down in France and even though he is a heavily hunted man by the French, Beauvallet sets out to deliver them to safety.  This is a great ridiculous adventure in true Heyer style.

This book is epic.  It is the story of a village in Russia called Russka.  It spans history and follows what happens in Russka and to the families of Russka.  I thought I would like it a lot more than I actually did.  It was too inappropriate!  Some of the story lines woven through were unnecessarily crude.  I did enjoy the concept of following a specific place through time (similar to Michener’s The Source) but because of that it was sometimes very difficult to follow.  I do enjoy Russian history so I thought for sure this one would be a hit but between feeling disjointed and disgusted I don’t think I will be reaching for another Rutherford for a while.

Had a Good Time by Robert Olen Butler is my favorite collection of short stories that I’ve ever read.  Butler collected post cards (which are included at the beginning of each story) and then researched the time and place and came up with a story about the sender and receiver of the card.  He also included newspaper articles that were relevant to that card and were fascinating.  This is possibly the best historical fiction I have read in a very long time.  This would be a fantastic travel book since it has so many short stories included.  Read it!  If you are at all interested in short stories or historical fiction or post cards you really should find a copy of this one.

I read 11 out of 14 of the Mrs. Pollifax books.  I love them.  I can’t wait to track down the three I missed.  A dear friend of mine lent me two of them and they were fantastic.  Who doesn’t love an elderly, geranium growing and woman who decides she wants to work for the CIA?  If you haven’t read Dorothy Gilman, you should!  Mexico City, Bulgaria, Turkey, Switzerland, Zambia, Morroco, Hong Kong, Sicily, a fictional country and Jordan are among her destinations.

Books in the Mrs. Pollifax series: (ones I have read are crossed through, the ones I haven’t are bolded and are on my “get a hold of ASAP” list).

  1. The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax
  2. The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax
  3. The Elusive Mrs. Pollifax
  4. A Palm for Mrs. Pollifax
  5. Mrs. Pollifax on Safari
  6. Mrs. Pollifax on the China Station
  7. Mrs. Pollifax and the Hong Kong Buddha
  8. Mrs. Pollifax and the Golden Triangle
  9. Mrs. Pollifax and the Whirling Dervish
  10. Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief
  11. Mrs. Pollifax Pursued
  12. Mrs. Pollifax and the Lion Killer
  13. Mrs. Pollifax, Innocent Tourist
  14. Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled

If you have not read Mrs. Pollifax you should.  She is taking a close second with Georgette Heyer for authors to read when life is too much and an alternate reality will help.  So delightful.  I think the cover of The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax illustrates the mood well.

~ by shostagirl on June 20, 2012.

3 Responses to “What I Read This Month: Part 1”

  1. “What I read this month” HILARIOUS!
    If only we lived closer together. I have Mrs. P. Unveiled.

  2. […] you want to know what I read in the last 5-6 weeks check out my What I Read this Month posts parts one and two.  I have banned myself from the library until I read some of these books.  I have a stack […]

Leave a Reply

 
