Spring Reading Thing Finished!

Spring has ended and with it my time for the Spring Reading Thing Challenge.  Of course I began with lofty goals and by some definition fell short.  I was hoping to be more deliberate and focused in my reading, and in many ways that happened.  I did  complete all the review copies I originally listed, and then some!  That was the only category that I finished.

 

 

Review Copies:

A Woman’s Call to Prayer

Where Lilacs Still Bloom

A Touch of America

Stress Point: Thriving Through Your Twenties in a Decade of Drama

Wildflowers from Winter

Portugal’s Golden Years: The Life and Times of Prince Henry “the Navigator”

In the fiction category I finished three out of four.  I am the most proud of finishing Crime and Punishment.  I have attempted many times before but this time I actually read the whole book.  I did not like it very much.  I fully expected to love it  but found it frustrating.  It was the whole philosophical experiment element that got me: I just don’t appreciate it.  My apologies to all the Dostoyevsky fans out there.

The Gift Of Asher Lev was a fascinating return to Chaim Potok.  I have enjoyed the other books by him about Asher Lev.  I did like this one, just not as much as the other three.  I like younger Asher better.  Chaim Potok always manages to make me want to read more about Judaism in America.  My Dad introduced me to these books and I’m glad I finally read them.

I can’t say enough in praise of Had a Good Time: Stories from American Postcards by Robert Olen Butler.  I LOVED those stories.  They were not all happy but they were all good.  I cannot get over this idea… there are real postcards and news articles and Butler takes those and comes up with a whole scenario.  Read it: you won’t regret it.

I also finished Russka: The Novel of Russia and The Mysterious Benedict Society Collection trilogy.  I am pretty happy to have discovered the Benedict books.  They will go on my shelf of re-reading frequently along with Harry Potter, Eragon, Stephen Lawhead and the Peterson brothers for when I feel the need for an adventure in another world.  Russka was ok but I think I’ve had my fill of the epic, sweeping, time saga genre for a while.

The non fiction category is the one that got me.  I only finished Almost a Womanby Esmerelda Santiago.  I didn’t really love it but for some reason am compelled to find her other books.  I did really enjoy her writing but there were too many unnecessary “near scenes” for me.  I want to know what happens to this girl but I am pretty sure I don’t want to wade through all the inappropriate behavior to find out.  I started several other books in this category but I haven’t finished them yet.

So 11 out of 19 books is what I finished.  That’s not terrible, right?  Especially when you consider how many other books I read during that time.  I primarily blame Mrs. Pollifax.  A friend lent me the first two and I immediately used my birthday money to track down most of the series on amazon.  I read ELEVEN of them.  I also got distracted by Carolyn Turgeon and more review copies.  I don’t regret those discoveries.  Next time I want to leave room for discovering new books.

Choosing a favorite book is a little hard.  I think I have to go with Had a Good Time: Stories from American Postcards although Where Lilacs Still Bloom: A Novelis also a contender.  If I am including books that I did not originally set out as a goal for this challenge it would be The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax for sure.

Thanks to Callapidder Days for hosting this challenge!  I cannot wait until the Fall Into Reading one.  I am already determined to meet my goals for that one.  It has been really fun to see what other people read.

~ by shostagirl on June 21, 2012.

10 Responses to “Spring Reading Thing Finished!”

  1. You still managed to get a lot done. I finish all but one book on my list, and read a ton of others, too.

    I have Where Lilacs Still Bloom on my tbr list and am hoping to get to it this summer. I’ve heard really good things about the Benedictine Society books but haven’t read them yet.

    If you get a chance, come check out my Spring Thing Wrap Up post.

    • Thanks. 🙂 Wow, all but one is pretty good! For the record, I did at least begin reading many of the others.
      Where Lilacs Still Bloom is awesome. You should definitely get to it. Be warned though, it will make you want to garden! The Mysterious Benedict Society books are amazing. They are so much fun and make entertaining quick reads.
      I’ll definitely check out your post.

  2. I grudgingly accept your apology. hahaha! Actually I’ve heard that critique about Dostoyevsky before. That his characters are just mouthpieces for his philosophy. It’s true. And I love it!
    Oh my goodness I’d forgotten the postcards book. It was buried somewhere in my to-read section. I want to read that so bad!!!
    hahaha! Only you (and maybe me and Carrie) would be upset that we “only” read eleven out of our nineteen because we were distracted by THIRTEEN OTHERS! haha

    • Haha… I didn’t even put up all the other ones I read… it’s at least 18 but may be higher… Ridiculous! You should read it. It’s amazing. You will love it, I predict.

  3. I always thought I should try to read Crime and Punishment but now I am thinking maybe not. 🙂 You did get a lot done.

  4. I’m with you on not getting everything on my list read, but enjoying several which distracted me from my original list! I read C&P last year (for the first time) and found it wonderful,though not easy. You have me curious about the Lilacs Still Bloom book, and I keep hearing about Chaim but have never gotten around to reading him. So many books. . . 🙂

    • Distractions are so much fun! I didn’t find Crime and Punishment particularly difficult to read, I just didn’t like the style. I guess for full disclosure: I LOVE Tolstoy and appreciate his style much more. What did you like about Crime and Punishment? (I’m still hoping to be able to change my mind)
      Oh, Chaim Potok is amazing. You should track those books down.
      The Lilacs book has me itching to be in my garden more and more.

  5. No, definitely not terrible! You got in lots of reading this spring! Oh and Mrs. Pollifax. My mom used to have much of that collection and I went on a complete Mrs. Pollifax-only reading spree for quite a while! Thanks so much for being part of the challenge!

Leave a Reply

 
