What’s on My Nightstand

  This is my first Nightstand post.  I have been noticing this idea for a little while now and finally remembered on the right day!  My friend Heather has been steadily convincing me to join her in these posts.  Since this is my first time posting I won’t give you what I just finished reading.  If you want to know what I read in the last 5-6 weeks check out my What I Read this Month posts parts one and two.  I have banned myself from the library until I read some of these books.  I have a stack on my nightstand, in a basket next to my wonderfully comfortable reading chair, and pretty much all over the house.

Review Copies:

A Taste of Heaven: Worship in the Light of Eternity by R. C. Sproul: Since there are so many books about heaven circulating right now I thought it would be nice to read a theological book on heaven.

Grant Me Wisdom by Matthew Henry: This one is for the book distribution company that rents space from the organization I work for.  It’s a devotional based on Matthew Henry’s writings.  I’m thinking that it could go either way… I’ll let you know what I think.

From the Library of C. S. Lewis: Selections from Writers Who Influenced His Spiritual Journey by James Stuart Bell:  Since Heather and I are on a C. S. Lewis reading kick over on our mutual blog, this seemed like a natural choice when I saw it on the book list.  I like history and therefore understanding context so it’ll be fun to get a reading context on one of my favorite authors.

Grieving God’s Way: The Path to Lasting Hope and Healing: I chose this one off a list because I think that someone emotional should review a book like this.  I’m already reading this one.  So far I have mixed feelings.  Some of the practical advice sounds great and there are a few days that really bugged me theologically.  It’s set up as a devotional which is an interesting way to approach grief in a book: in small daily snippets.

Help for the Fractured Soul: Experiencing Healing and Deliverance from Deep Trauma by Candace Roberts: This one seemed to have more of a counseling approach which is a field I’m interested in.

Love Your Enemies (A History of the Tradition and Interpretation of Its Uses): Jesus’ Love Command in the Synoptic Gospels and the Early Christian Paraenesis by John Piper: I enjoy reading Piper and am excited about this new one!

Fiction:

I am going to read some Alexander McCall Smith this month.  I am caught up on the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series as well as the Sunday Philosophy Club series.  Now I plan to read the 44 Scotland Street series.  I will hopefully read at least the first 5 in July.

  1.  44 Scotland Street
  2. Espresso Tales
  3. Love Over Scotland
  4. The World According to Bertie
  5. The Unbearable Lightness of Scones

For Carrie’s Narnia Reading Challenge I’m planning to read at least two of the series as well as the James Stuart Bell book.

Nonfiction:

I would like to finish Undaunted Courage: Meriwether Lewis, Thomas Jefferson, and the Opening of the American West by Stephen Ambrose.

I would also like to read Augustine of Hippo: A Biography by Peter Brown.  These are both recommendations from my Dad who is an equally avid reader.

Alright, there’s my first attempt.  We’ll see how I do.

~ by shostagirl on June 26, 2012.

14 Responses to “What’s on My Nightstand”

  1. Great list! So glad you decided to participate!

    Have you read George MacDonald? He was a huge influence on Lewis, and I’m sure he’ll be mentioned in your book. As a result, I’ve read a lot of his stuff, but my favs are his kids’ books–the Curdie ones.

    Elizabeth from 5MFB

  2. Welcome! Glad you finally remembered! That’s a heavy list. I was glad to see some fiction on there.

    • Thanks! I am sure I will read more fiction than I listed… it tends to just appear. I’m a history nerd and a theology nerd wanna-be so while it is heavy reading I do enjoy it.

  3. Your list is inspiring. I need to read more non-fiction! I hate those times of banning yourself from the library…or from online bookstores… 😉

  4. “I have a stack on my nightstand, in a basket next to my wonderfully comfortable reading chair, and pretty much all over the house.” heehee…sounds like me.

    SO glad you joined! I mean, after all, you ARE going to have to catch up to me. LOL…I shouldn’t taunt you like this. I’m afraid you’ll actually try too hard.

    I am coveting your “From the Library of C.S. Lewis” book. Although, we all know it will just give you MORE stuff to read.

    Ok, you have a LOT more on your list than me. Way to be bold! And I just realized there is no non-fic on mine….problematic…

    • Oh man, I don’t know how I could ever catch up the grand distance of 48 pages. 😉 Taunt all you want… it won’t put you farther ahead!

      Haha, I should make a “From the Library of C.S. Lewis” bookshelf on goodreads just to keep track of how many books reading this one makes me want to read.

      What?!? Usually you are reading MORE non fiction than I am. The review books I chose recently seem to all be non fiction… hmm…

  5. Nice list. I read part of Undaunted Courage but then, my husband took it with him on the road….waiting to get that one back….:)

    • I’m enjoying it… though I’ve been other book distracted lately. You’ll have to let me know what you think of it when you get back to it.

  6. Welcome to WOYN! Hope your reading brings you summer joy!
    -Dawn, 5M4B

    • Thanks! I do love a good book, especially outside. This weekend I’m doing my very favorite summer activity: heading up into the mountains to a national park, putting up my hammock, and curling up with several good books.

  7. Wowwee–you do have a pretty impressive list. I’m a theology nerd wannabe as well, but I’m not too keen on spending money, so I get most of my books second hand or at the library–which means that my selection is more limited. Still, Love Your Enemies sounds fascinating. I spent some time a couple years ago reading some Christian pacifist stuff, and while I was ultimately unconvinced by the argument for Christian pacifism, I was very glad to have thought through the topic from a very different perspective than the one in which I had been raised.

  8. […] on my nightstand?  So many books!  My post two months ago was rather ambitious.  Since then I’ve lost my job.  One would think that not having a job […]

Leave a Reply

 
