Grieving God’s Way

Margaret Brownley’s 90 day devotional was not what I expected.  Grieving God’s Way: The Path to Lasting Hope and Healing was a provoking enough title for me to choose it from a list.  There is also a Haiku each day written by Diantha Ain.  Brownley breaks up the devotional into four sections: Healing the Grieving Body, Healing the Grieving Soul, Healing the Grieving Heart and Healing the Grieving Spirit.  Each day includes a scripture verse, a page of thoughts, a haiku and the opposite page which is a little more like an article and tended towards application.  I especially appreciated Day 29: The Healing Power of Music.  Brownley quotes German poet Novalis’ saying that “every illness is a musical problem.”

The applications are very practical.  I thought most of the days were very helpful.  There were a few that I did not appreciate but for the most part I found them encouraging.  I will probably keep it as a resource but not give it to others who are in the midst of deep grief.

Day 29’s Haiku was one I particularly enjoyed:

The sound of music

Possesses soothing powers

That mend broken hearts

Day 33 encourages the reader to journal.  Day 34 discusses talking about the person that the reader is missing.  Name dropping is a good thing.  Brownley talks about the gift of memory.

You are my sunshine,

even though you are not here

to brighten my day.

The practical piece of that day includes naming all the pieces of loss big and small, untangling them into separate pieces instead of a tangled knot.

Day 43 talks about grief as an opportunity to stop in the rush of life and realize how beautiful it is.  “Grief magnifies the smallest areas of life, allowing for greater appreciation of friends and family, a broader understanding of life, and a stronger, more enduring faith.

The meaning of life

can be understood only

by accepting death.

At one point Brownley quotes C. S. Lewis which was fun for me to read because my friend Heather and I are reading The Problem of Pain together.

I think this is a helpful resource.  There were some days that I really did not appreciate.  I really liked the application pieces tied in with a haiku and Scripture.  If you want an encouraging resource, this could be the book for you.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for completing a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion here is my own.

~ by shostagirl on June 28, 2012.

One Response to “Grieving God’s Way”

  1. Ok, I read your disclaimer wrong. I read “I was not required to write a polite review” and now I’m chuckling over what an impolite review would look like.

    Haiku huh? Well, that is really different. And strange. And Haiku always seems like something that should be really funny. It’s almost like you told me that someone wrote a really sad book and included limericks.

    I’m glad you liked this one. It seems really different, in a good way.

Leave a Reply

 
