Two Weeks can Wreak Havoc

Over a month ago now I lost my job.  At first I thought I would end up reading, reviewing and blogging more but it turns out that job hunting takes more time than having a job.  Not to mention that my computer is old and posting takes forever.  It has been a crazy month.  So far I am finding part time stuff and applying.  I took a two week trip to visit my grandparents who live on an island in the Puget Sound.  It was wonderful but it took a toll on my garden!

Just two weeks of sunshine and rain combined with my absence and there were quite literally weeds taller than me!  Also, somehow morning glories grew over the ENTIRE garden while I was gone.

Fortunately my sunflowers grew ever faster than the weeds.  If you look carefully you can tell that some of the morning glories grew up the sunflowers.  It looks pretty neat.

Cheery!

As I began the weeding process I discovered one of my canteloupes.  I cannot wait until they are ripe!

Harvesting took me two hours!  So many tomatoes and green beans.  The sweet peppers are just starting to come in and once I uncover the lima beans I’ll see where they are at.  This is exciting stuff!  The next step (after much more weeding) is planting the sugar snap peas and spinach and more carrots.  At least the veggies grew along with the weeds.

~ by shostagirl on August 14, 2012.

One Response to “Two Weeks can Wreak Havoc”

  1. Wow! I am SO impressed with your harvest! And that melon is HUGE! You go, girl. Also, I’m glad to see you posting again, even though it’s very infrequent. I appreciate just seeing little updates. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
