What’s On My Nightstand: September 2012

What's On Your NightstandWhat’s on my nightstand?  So many books!  My post two months ago was rather ambitious.  Since then I’ve lost my job.  One would think that not having a job would mean more reading, reviewing and blogging but alas: job hunting takes much more time than actually working!  I did manage to finish the Alexander McCall Smith books as well as reading several others.  I ended up spending two weeks out in Washington state visiting grandparents and reading books my Granny recommended.  Two of them in particular I really enjoyed.  The Music Lesson: A Spiritual Search for Growth Through Music and The Cello Suites: J. S. Bach, Pablo Casals, and the Search for a Baroque Masterpiece.  I am hoping to review both of them as soon as I can get my hands on copies.

I am adding a review book from goodreads: The Time In Between: A Novel. So far I am greatly enjoying it. Set in Morocco before and during World War II Siri has captured my attention.  One of the reasons I am enjoying this books is that Siri is a seamstress.  I enjoy reading books where the characters’ creativity is a big part of the story because it inspires me to be more creative.

This month I am also hoping to pick up something by G. K. Chesterton because that is one of my reading goals for this year that I have been neglecting.

~ by shostagirl on August 29, 2012.

4 Responses to “What’s On My Nightstand: September 2012”

  1. Sorry about your job!! I hope you find something soon. 🙂

    The Cello Suites is on my TBR list. Good to know someone liked it! I’ll have to add The Music Lesson as well.

    Happy reading and good luck with your job hunting!
    Cassandra

  2. Ditto Cassandra’s thoughts on the job! And I’m kind of ashamed right now since you hardly have time to read and are still ahead of me….
    You know, I’ve never read Chesterton either, and I really really ought to.

  3. Thanks friends! Cassandra- The Music Lesson is awesome. From what I have read of your blog I’m guessing that you will really enjoy it. Heather, I’m making more time. I’m taking a much more structured approach to everything this week so I’m going to be actually getting to reviews.

  4. Morocco!! YAY!!

Leave a Reply

 
